Radio Silence

 Hero's Journey Spread

Dear readers!  I’m so sorry for the extended radio silence on this blog!  October was pretty wild and I’m hoping things will calm down a bit.

Why was it so wild?

Part of it was because my boyfriend and I moved in together!  The whole process was extremely stressful.  We started out looking for houses but the market is so weird where we live.  Weird in the way that we looked at quite a few fixer-uppers (for rental only) and the property managers / owners wanted ridiculous amounts of rent for houses that were NOT in the greatest of shape.  I mean, honestly, $1100 a month for a place that doesn’t have proper outlets throughout the whole house and unsealed windows and chewed up doorjambs?  Living next to pack-rat, rebel flag-flying neighbors?  No thank you!

There was one place that was PERFECT but there were strange circumstances surrounding it.  And the owner wanted us to move in as soon as we could, which wasn’t monetarily possible, unfortunately.  Sadly, we had to settle on an apartment.  I had wanted a house for privacy, space and the possibility of practicing my hostessing skills for parties but the apartment we ended up signing a lease on is nice, though it has some issues as well…

Another issue was that the movers we hired so that we wouldn’t injure ourselves moving furniture (like my Ikea TV cabinet thing which is super heavy when it’s empty!) didn’t come when they were scheduled to on Saturday.  Mind you, my boyfriend had to be completely out of his place on Saturday.  Luckily, I have my apartment until the end the this week but that’s neither here nor there.  The movers just didn’t show up.  Devastated, we came up with another game plan for his stuff and put my big stuff on hold.  We rescheduled for Sunday and – surprise – the movers didn’t show up AGAIN!  Long story short, we canceled our reservations with that company (and got our deposits back, thank goodness!) and another company is scheduled to come out today to get all my stuff!  Phew!  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they don’t flake, too!

So…because of all that, I’ve taken an extended break from most things.  After my furniture arrives (including my reading table!), I’ll slowly work my way back into the swing of things, I promise!  I will also write about the spread on the top right.  That is The Hero’s Journey Spread from Instagrammer @mnomquah‘s wonderful #ShadowWorkOctober (which, surprise, I didn’t finish).  It was quite the revealing spread!  That will be coming up soon 🙂

BTW, for my office Halloween party, I managed to dress up as Tina Belcher from Bob’s Burgers!

I hope you all have had a wonderful October and are having an even more wonderful November so far!

2 thoughts on “Radio Silence

Leave a Reply

