My Favorite Decks for Fall

Do you ever notice during certain seasons, you’re drawn to certain decks over others?

Even though it is still pretty hot here in Atlanta, I’ve been feeling that faint Fall crisp in the air.  And when that happens, I notice I gravitate towards more Fall-feeling decks.  Check out my favorite picks for Fall!

I asked each deck the same question and pulled a single card: What are your strengths as a Fall deck?

Shadowscapes Tarot by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law and Barbara Moore

I enjoy this deck but I don’t connect with it well and I think I might have figured out why.  The imagery is gorgeous and I love the artistry but feels like a cool breeze to me.  The kind of cool breeze that feels great after feeling the blistering heat for a while.

The Shadowscapes told me that its strength as a Fall deck is the Four Of Pentacles: Stability in matters concerning the Earthly realms, which is nice because I know I have a tendency to float into the Ethereal, especially during this time of year.  What about you?

Prisma Visions Tarot by James R. Eads

This deck is amazing to work with year-round but I find I get drawn to it more in the colder months.  Not only does each card have a cool, transitional feel, the entire suit of Cups is dedicated to Fall in its gorgeous panorama below.  I also added The Empress, The Star, and The Devil because I felt those Majors embodied Fall quite nicely.

The Prisma Visions told me that its strength as a Fall deck is The Empress.  Would you look at those warm, Fall colours!  Nurturing, supportive, motherly, and warm.  The perfect card during those cold shadow months.

 

Prisma Visions Suit of Cups panorama

Raven’s Prophecy Tarot  by Maggie Stiefvater

I have not worked with this deck as extensively as the others but it feels perfectly Fall for me.  I will post my deck interview with it soon! **Here is my interview with it!

The Raven’s Prophecy told me that it’s strength as a Fall deck is the Wheel of Fortune.  I love that the image appears to portray the seasons with Springy flowers, Summery bright green, Fall-y warm tones with the acorns, and Wintery dried up leaves showing the cyclical nature of…well, nature.  It will definitely give a lot to think about during the shadow months.

The Penny Dreadful Tarot  by Anaïs Chareyre

This Tarot deck is from my most favorite show, Penny Dreadful, and I find that it has a strong Fall / Winter feel with this stark imagery.

Surprisingly, the Penny Dreadful deck told me that its strength as a Fall deck is its celebratory attitude with the Four of Wands.  *blank stare*  The image doesn’t exactly give me the warm and fuzzies and this deck reads more like a TdM-style deck but I do like the promise here.  Fall is the time when family starts getting together…so, there’s that!

78 Cards by Lana Zellner

I love this deck and the traditional tattoo style has a Fall feeling to me.  The richness of the colors have such a transitional tone, perfect for the changing seasons.

The 78 Cards deck told me it’s strength as a Fall deck is that nostalgic feel that the Six of Cups brings and I quite enjoy that, especially since Kelly-Ann Maddox’s Self-Love September has us venturing into the past to uncover those raw bits to transmute them into love.  I might have to start using this baby for a little Self-Love check in.

The Halloween Oracle by Stacey Demarco

I think the name speaks for itself, no?  This deck is great for Fall, especially around Halloween, of course!

The Jack-o’-Lantern card is also the Protection card.  It’s nice to know that this deck’s strength is great for setting up boundaries and exploring our own protection rituals.  How do you like to protect yourself when the veil is thin?  Personally, I have a very thorough routine that I like to do when I’m called to, which happens to be around the Full or New Moon.

So, those are my Fall deck picks.  I would love to know what yours are!

The Autumn Equinox marks the balance between light and dark and is also known as Mabon by Pagans and Wiccans. To celebrate Autumn, several of us have banded together to support YOUR Equinox Journey, offering tarot and oracle card spreads; information on how to work with the Colours of Autumn; tips on working with your Inner Cauldron; new additions for your Art Journal; creative writing tips; working with Lilith; the journey of Persephone, Demeter and Hades, and much much more. To read the next article in the Fall Tarot Blog Hop, click here!

This was part of the Fall Tarot Blog Hop hosted by Sharron of the School of Gypsy Arts and the creator of the Seeds of Shakti Oracle deck!  Be sure to check out the other contributors and follow the hop!

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Decks for Fall

Leave a Reply

